How I See It: Today’s World from the Eyes of a 22-year-old

I worry a lot about the state of today’s world. It seems as if we are all in distress, feeling the frustrations and anxieties of the world around us. There is so much danger, war and murder. There is conflict between genders, ethnicities, religions. Why have people become so hateful, and cruel, and vicious? What happened to us as human beings? Why does it matter how/when you pray, what you eat, or who you love? Does it really matter that much?

I am so sick of people being judged or bullied because of how they want to live their lives. You want to dye your hair purple? That’s cool. You want to go to school and become an actor instead of an engineer? Go for it! You want to walk around dressed like a cat? That’s awesome. It is YOUR life. You have the freedom to live it as you choose. Yeah sure, people will stare at your cat costume as you walk by, or make a joke or two, but does it really matter? Not really. All that matters at the end of the day is your happiness. If you are happy with yourself, then rock the look. Rock the education. Rock the lifestyle. Rock the relationship. Do not give a damn what other people think, or how they view you.  At the end of the day, every single one of us is given ONE life to live. When our time runs out, our lives are over. There are no re-do’s, no “backsies,” you have to accept all of the decisions you made, and the things you did, or did not, do.

Even online, people are getting bullied or “trolled.” Like seriously?! People are so concerned with being politically correct, yet they have no problem putting someone else down based on what they are wearing, where they live, or how they chose to live.

I have had my fair share of trials and tribulations. I spent a lot of time with the wrong group, people who would always bring me down, comment on my appearance, lifestyle, career choices, and so on. Then, one day, I had enough. I was tired of being told what to do, tired of being told how to dress, and act, and think. I want to be free to make choices on my own, and be who I truly want to be. I don’t want to look back on my life and say “what was I thinking… how did I waste so much time pretending to someone I’m not?” I am so young, barely twenty-two. I love pop music, traveling, cooking, making videos, taking photographs, writing, learning, shopping, puppies, flowers. I want to be FREE to live in a world where I do not have to be scared of judgement or harm.

I used to be one of those people who would judge. Not in a mean way, I would never say or do hurtful things, but I would question why people would live in certain manners, puzzle at why they would live differently than me. However, I was wrong. It’s not fair for me to assume my lifestyle is better than anyone else’s. Just because I choose not to get tattoos, doesn’t mean that I can judge people with tattoos. I choose to express myself through art and writing, some people prefer tattoos. I now find tattoos interesting and I often ask people what theirs represent or symbolize. Tattoos are just an example, for instance. There are millions of other things that can be compared to this.

My message of this all is to love each other. Embrace each other. Support each other. Talk to that “weirdo” in your class, I’m sure he is a really cool guy. Go say hi to your Jewish neighbor that you avoid because they are “different.” Just be nice. You will be surprised how many amazing people you will meet.

Leave a Reply

